Idle No More Toronto and âpihtawikosisân

The Vibe Collective : Real Talk. Real Music. Real Vibes. Each and every Saturday 3pm to 5pm on CIUT 89.5FM with DJ Jams, Mali DocuVixen, Kemba King, Adnan aka DJ AdItUp, Adrian Worrell & DJ gryphen. THE VIBE COLLECTIVE IS AN ONGOING DIALOGUE ABOUT HIPHOP, ART, DECOLONIZATION, SOCIAL JUSTICE, IDENTITY, CAPITALISM, ENVIRONMENTAL JUSTICE AND THE WAYS IN WHICH THESE THINGS INTERSECT, FOLLOWED BY AN HOUR OF MUSIC TO MOVE YOU.

Continuing our ongoing coverage of Idle No More, The Vibe Collective speaks with Idle No More Toronto: Wanda Nanibush and Tannis Nielson, on the phone with us is Chelsie Volwel âpihtawikosisân.

The Vibe Collective, Saturday, January 05, 2013

Round Table Discussion  


Idlenomoretoronto

Source: Idle No More Toronto Facebook

Idle No More Toronto: A localized (toronto,On) INM group,that is led by INDIGENOUS WOMEN who are committed to working in support of, ensuring the inherent rights of First Nations People(s) and the protection of our environment/waters.
Facebook: http://www.facebook.com/idlenomoretoronto
Twitter: @IdleNoMoreTO https://twitter.com/IdleNoMoreTO

header

Source- http://apihtawikosisan.com/

âpihtawikosisân is the name the Cree have given to the Métis.  It literally means “half-son”.  I chose the name to reflect the fact that I am coming from a Métis perspective, and it is not actually my name, legal or otherwise.  It sounds like ah-pih-du-wi-GO-si-sahn.  In rapid speech it can sound more like ah-pih-duhh-GO-si-sahn which is what most people repeat back to me when asked how to say this word :)   I’d understand either pronunciation.

My name is Chelsea Vowel.  I am a 35 year old Métis mother of two girls, step-mother to two more. I was born and raised just outside of Lac Ste. Anne, Alberta which is about 70 km west of Edmonton.  I have  BEd and taught for some time in Inuvik, Northwest Territories.  I obtained my LLB from the University of Alberta and then promptly moved to the only civil law jurisdiction in the country…Quebec, making my common-law degree rather less useful.

So here I am, in Montreal, adjusting to an urban existence far from my home territory, adjusting to a new language and culture, and dabbling in Law and Education.  Currently I am teaching Inuit youth under protection.

On top of all that, I am pursuing my passion for my Plains Cree language and aboriginal language education in general, and shifting my attention to Indigenous law (our law) rather than Aboriginal law (how the Canadian state relates to us).  I ‘relax’ via roller derby as Louise Riel.  Less strenuous forms of leisure have me writing and singing songs in Plains Cree.

Music

Playlist

BEW epilogue LAL “justice makes ur heart pound and ur fist shall always rise”
A Tribe Called Red “The Road” #IdleNoMore
Quillbox f – “The Apology”
Mob Bounce “Ghost Dance”
Joey Badass “Survival Tactics ” CapitalSteez RIP
Phoenix Pagliacci, LeviWatson”Overdose on Living”
John River “I Don’t Want To Be”

Leave a Reply

